Assistant Chief Fire Officer Tim Edwards presenting an award to the Rapid Relief Team.

Awards have been given to Norfolk Fire and Rescue Service staff for their achievements.

A ceremony to present the awards was cancelled due to the pandemic, instead, senior leaders visited some recipients of the 2021 awards individually and will continue to do so when Covid restrictions allow.

As well as honouring staff with long-service awards, categories included fundraiser of the year, making a difference awards and leadership accolades.

Among those honoured from West Norfolk were: 

• Ashley Baldwin and volunteer Rosie Richardson (Cadet category) from Hunstanton Cadet Unit as, despite cadets being unable to meet through the pandemic, they kept in contact with cadets to check on their welfare and support them emotionally. 

• Rob Laws, Fundraiser of the Year for organising a motorcycle rally, raising £2,300 for the Fire Fighters’ charity. During the event he delivered vital safety and recruitment messages to audiences around Norfolk. 

• The King’s Lynn-based Rapid Relief Team (Volunteer of the Year) who support crews with catering services at large, protracted incidents.

• Outstanding Contribution to Pandemic Response awards went to John Linden and Natalie Rushton, working in Norfolk’s temporary mortuary.

• Terry Pinto from the NHS Support Team, which  implemented the response to the NHS by finding suitable service staff to assist with tasks including staffing vaccination centres and deploying them into the NHS. 

Awards could not be presented to recipients in 2020, due to the pandemic but recipients were:

• Pioneer: John Linden.

• Inspirational Leader: Terry Pinto.

• Chief Fire Officer Award: Sue Rogers.

For 2021, Long-Service, Good Conduct 20-year medals went to: Robert Bateman, Robert Curtis, Paul Edwards, Ian Herdman, Simon Ruff and Philip Tinkley.

Douglas Kelly received a 35-year service certificate and James Groom a 40-year service certificate.

2020’s long-service awards and 20-year medal recipients were:  Andrew Cracknell, Mark Endersby, Peter Greeves, Scott Norman and Jonathon Smith.

Thirty-year service certificates went to Robert Ayers and Barry Rudd, while Mick Whitby received a 40-year service certificate. 

Margaret Dewsbury, cabinet member for communities and partnerships at Norfolk County Council, said: “After what has been a challenging year for us all, Norfolk Fire and Rescue have continued their exceptional work in the face of both the usual challenges of firefighting and new ones created by the pandemic.

“It is wonderful that this year’s awards were able to go ahead and recognise this hard work. 

“Congratulations to all the winners and thank you to all members of the service receiving long-service medals, your dedication to Norfolk is inspiring.”