Ballot box. Picture: Pixabay.

Voters go to the polls on Thursday to elect members to Norfolk County Council and a new Police and Crime Commissioner for Norfolk.

In light of the pandemic, new safety measures are being introduced to reassure people and keep them safe as they cast their vote, including asking people to take along their own pen on the day and wear a face covering. 

Voters must also follow social distancing rules and wash their hands when entering and leaving the polling station.

They must not attend if they have symptoms of COVID-19 or if they have been asked to self-isolate.

There will be provisions in place to apply for an emergency proxy vote if required due to health circumstances, West Norfolk Council has said.

West Norfolk man Lorne Green is not seeking re-election as police and crime commissioner and there are five candidates vying for the post.

The fight to replace him in a role will be John Crofts, of Ringstead (Liberal Democrat), David Moreland, from the Great Yarmouth constituency (Independent), Giles Orpen-Smellie, from the Broadland constituency (Conservative), Michael Rosen, from mid Norfolk (Labour and Co-operative Party) and Martin Schmierer, of Norwich (Green Party).

In the county council elections, there are 14 wards in West Norfolk to be represented.

Among the candidates are a number of councillors hoping for re-election and several new faces. 

The candidates are:  Clenchwarton and King’s Lynn South: Adam Giles, of Norwich (Labour), Liam Hind, of King’s Lynn (Conservative),  Alexandra Kemp, address given as of King’s Lynn and West Norfolk (Independent).

Dersingham: Erika Coward, of King’s Lynn (Liberal Democrat), Suart Dark, of Snettisham (Conservative), George Lankester, of Norwich, (Labour), Jordan Stokes, of Dersingham, (Green party).

Docking: Michelle Carter, of King’s Lynn/West Norfolk (Labour), Michael Chenery of Horsbrugh, of North Creake (Conservative), Chris Morley, of Great Bircham (Independent).

Downham Market: Eamonn McCusker, of Downham Market (Labour), Josie Ratcliffe, of Downham Market (Liberal Democrat), Jackie Westrop, of Downham Market (Independent), Tony White, of Whittington (Conservative).

Feltwell: Neil Aldridge, of Thetford (Independent), Christopher Harvey, of Thetford (Labour), Tom Ryves, of King’s Lynn/West Norfolk (Independent), Martin Storey, of Hockwold (Conservative).

Fincham: Alan Holmes, of Hilgay (Independent), Brian Long, of Marshland St James (Conservative), Jo Smith, of Norwich (Independent).

Freebridge Lynn: Francis Bone, King’s Lynn/West Norfolk (Labour), Nick Daubney, of Pott Row (Conservative), Michael De Whalley, of Grimston,  (Green Party).

Gayton and Nar Valley: David Collis, of Bawsey, (Labour), Jim Moriarty, of Castle Acre (Independent), Olivia Morris, of Ashwicken (Conservative).

Gaywood North and Central: Helen Dalgliesh, of King’s Lynn/West Norfolk (Labour), Graham Middleton, of King’s Lynn (Conservative), David Mills, of Castle Rising (Liberal Democrat), Jim Perkins, of Setch (UK Independence Party).

Gaywood South: Micaela Bartrum, King’s Lynn/West Norfolk (Labour), Rob Colwell, of King’s Lynn/West Norfolk (Liberal Democrat), Thomas Smith, of King’s Lynn/West Nofolk (Conservative), Michael Stone, of Gaywood (UKIP).

King’s Lynn North and Central: Rob Archer, of King’s Lynn (Green Party), Lesley Bambridge, of King’s Lynn (Conservative), Gary Bramham, of King’s Lynn (Reform UK), Richard Coward, of King’s Lynn (Liberal Democrat), Wilfred Lambert, of King’s Lynn/West Norfolk (Labour).

Marshland North: Matthew Hannay, of Terrington St Clement (Labour), Julian Kirk, of Walton Highway (Conservative), Sandra Squire, of Outwell (Independent).

Marshland South: Chris Dawson, of King’s Lynn/West Norfolk (Conservative), David Hodgkinson, of Breckland (Labour), Alastair Kent, of King’s Lynn/West Norfolk (Green Party), Colin Rose, of Upwell (Independent).

North Coast: John Crofts, of Ringstead (Liberal Democrat), Andrew Jamieson, of Thornham (Conservative), John Simmons, of Great Yarmouth (Labour). 

There are also a number of parish council by-elections. Candidates are: Clenchwarton: The Reverend Canon Alan Bell, and Karl Tordoff. Downham Old Town: Tony Leach and Josie Ratcliffe. North Downham: Simon Gomes-Dacosta, Daniel Jordan, James Leach and Justin Lewis. South Downham: Mark Eastwood and Stephen Moyses.