Luke Frary, left, and David Billington give chase in their race at Nottingham University.Picture: JO TIDMAN.

SPEED SKATING: It was a medal-laden day for West Norfolk in the Indoor Speed Skating British Championships at Nottingham University.

A 16-strong team from Walpole Highway-based Wisbech Inline Skaters all returned with medals in a haul of 16 gold, 16 silver and 14 bronze plus seven British champion titles. 

The day proved eventful due to an unpredictable floor at a venue but it produced some exciting racing. 

Leah Barker was Wisbech’s youngest member on the day to be crowned overall champion, taking the mini girls category with a hat-trick of wins, the only member to win all her races. 

Arthur Buckler battled it out at the front in the pupil boys category, finishing second in the Dobbin sprint and first in his other two races to be crowned overall champion. 

Jo Tidman held comfortable second places across all three of her races in the masters ladies category, while David Billington, in the masters men’s, category took a tumble in race three, but still crossed the line in third place to finish as overall champion after winning his other two races. 

Taylor Barker took three third-place finishes in the tough pupil boys category. His brother, Kirby, gained three podium places in the mini boys category. Flynn McGurk took the third overall fastest time of the day in the Dobbin sprint and won gold in the youth boys category, along with second places in his other two races.

Fellow youth skater James Eve followed him in third. 

Newcomer Kayleigh Rye skated well in her first British Championships and finished third overall for the youth girls.

Twin sisters Eve and Lucy McInerney took an incredible win in the senior ladies relay race, winning by several laps. 

Coach and veteran racer Mike McInerney held the fastest time for the team in the Dobbin sprint 100m flying lap with 8.62 seconds, and battled hard in the 1,500m race for triumph. 

The most eventful race was the senior men’s 30-lap relay race, where Mike McInerney and Flynn McGurk battled at the front with two Essex rivals as the lead swapped all race until a crash saw McInerney just keep upright to cross the line first to become relay champions for the second successive year. 

The second WISS team of brothers Warren and James Eve finished in second place. 

Three members of the team were presented with certificates for breaking records during 2018 – Luke Frary, 100m road race; James Eve, 15k road race, and Arthur Buckler, 100m and 3,000m road races and 800m and 2,000m track races.