John Self, secretary of the Friends of True’s Yard with museum manager, Lindsey Bavin. Picture: Kevin Elfleet

A popular King’s Lynn museum has had a welcome boost.

True’s Yard Fisherfolk Museum has been handed a cheque for £1,000 from the Friends of True’s Yard.

The cash boost will go towards the repair of the fishing smack Activity as part of the Activity Special Fund.

Museum Manager, Lindsey Bavin, said: “Our hardworking Friends group have helped the museum with numerous projects over the years.

“This donation, alongside a recent donation from the Fishmongers’ Company, will ensure that work can continue on this historic vessel.”

Built in 1904 by the Hornigold brothers, Activity is a typical Lynn half-decker shrimp and shell fishing smack.

Master craftsman Paul Lake is already busy repairing Activity.

Three trees’ worth of wood will be needed to get her back to a fine state.

The old mast could not be salvaged but the donation means the museum can now purchase a new one.

Dr Paul Richards, Chairman of the trustees, added: “We look forward to seeing Activity returned to her former glory.

“The fishing smack is a true heritage asset and the museum would be diminished without it.”

The heritage site and town museum celebrates the fishing community of the North End which made a significant contribution to King’s Lynn’s economic and social life for 900 years.

Visitors to True’s Yard can also explore the last surviving fisherfolk yard which still homes two cottages, largely intact, dating from the 18th century.