Stay Alert

CYCLING: Jorge Vieira continued his winning ways in the King’s Lynn Cycling Club Wednesday evening time trial series. 

His time of 21.03 was just three seconds outside his best for the season.

However, second-placed Ben Stancombe, who recorded 21.57, retained his lead in the championship.

Third place was taken by Steve Neill with 22.33.

The men’s old school category was won by Trevor Marshall, who opened his account with maximum points for a time of 27.11, followed by championship leader Simon Hardy with 27.58. Third was Alec Marshall, 15, who also topped the juniors category in 29.18. However, runner-up in this class Tye Rugg, still leads the classification with 34 points.

The biggest tally belongs to his mother Heather, with her 100 per cent record in the ladies old school category, having netted 42 points already.

She was among many riders taking advantage of the still conditions to post a season’s best 33.18.

Kay Burgess leads the ladies time trial classification with two wins from two, clocking 26.15 this week.

Safer Summer Staycation