Ryston Cross Country GP M50 winner Tony Savage. Picture: Tim Smith.

ATHLETICS: The theme for the weekend was mud as members of Ryston Runners were in cross country action.

Malcolm Tuff set the ball rolling on Saturday in the England Athletics Masters Association Home Countries challenge match in Glasgow.

Selected as a travelling reserve for the England M50 team, he found himself running in the fourth event of the day, ensuring that the already challenging hilly course was nicely churned up.

In such conditions it was an excellent result for Tuff to run the 8k route in 28.45.

He was 15th in the open race but first of the GB M50s outside of the scoring team.

Commenting afterwards, he said he felt humbled by the performances of some of the other competitors.

This experience has given him new targets and the will to train harder over the coming winter.

Sunday saw the second event in the Ryston Cross Country Grand Prix series, with the seniors tackling the first of the two challenges over the longer 9k course.

Just two of the host club members won their categories – Nic Bensley M45 and Tony Savage M50.

Others taking home place awards for Ryston were:

Senior Men: 2 Chris Balmer, 3 Robert Simmonds.

W35: 3 Susan Matthews.

W40: 3 Lesley Robins.

W45: 3 Pauline Drewery.

M50: 3 Martin Ive.

W50: 3 Geraldine Jordan.

W55: 2 Maureen Wolfe.

The sole junior award winner for Ryston was Bailey Took, who finished in third place in the u15 boys race.

Other Ryston results:

U9B: 11 Thomas Simmonds, 14 Jacob Booth, 15 Charlie Isbill.

U11B: 13 Connor Austin, 17 Riley Bell, 22 Oliver Davis.

U11G: 13 Ella Matthews.

U13B: 7 Kit Howlett, 13 Kieran Bell, 16 Thomas Matthews.

U13G: 8 Izzy Sandover, 13 Lily Teasdale.

U15B: 6 Kyle Berry.

U15G: 5 Rosie Booth.

SM: 5 Daniel Guppy, 9 Paul Keaney, 11 Michael Howlett, 12 Gareth Hunt, 13 Dan Pratt, 20 Simon Levy.

SW: 5 Mel Reed.

W35: 5 Anna Seaman, 10 Emma Thompson.

M40: 4 Phil Thompson,
9 Mark Doughty, 13 Paul Carter.

W40: 11 Claire Emery.

M45: 5 Stewart Robins, 19 Andrew McNamara, 21 Paddy Thompson.

W45: 6. Karen Smith.

M50: 6 David Marston, 8 Jeremy Navrady, 10 Andy Smith, 11 David Lane.

W50: 5 Linda Marshall.

M55: 4 Martin Blackburn, 6 Keith Morris, 7 Christopher Milnes, 8 Kevin Piggott.

M60: 17 Jeff Reed, 19 Mick Ennis.