Downham Town A won the Norfolk Alliance Division Three title with a seven-wicket win over Winterton, to pip Swaffham. Back, from left: David Grady, Simon Brooking, Gary Hooker, Johnny Williams, Andrew Arndt, Robert Hooton, Dominic Corbett , Jason Porter. Front: Ian Stacey, Ian Simmonds, Ashley Corbett, Colin Edwards and scorer Dylan Morris. Absent from the picture were Neil Gromett and Alex Vincent.

CRICKET: North Runcton were left cursing the weather as they were denied an emphatic finish to their Norfolk Alliance Premier Division season.

Ben Coote (123no) and opener Dean Robinson (111no) shared an unbroken third-wicket stand of 215 in Runcton’s 278-2 40-over total against Brooke.

Josh Ring (3-29) did his best to end things quickly but Matthew Collinge (42no) dug in to leave the weather the winner when a storm broke with the visitors on 118/6 after 28 overs.

The rain was not there to help Downham Town in their match at Swardeston though.

A solid start from openers Addam Todd (38) and Ian Harrison (29) produced a
54-run stand but Town slumped from 93-1 to 132-6 and were bowled out for 199, despite 30 from Chris Sharp and 28 from Joss Stuart.

Town used seven bowlers in an effort to claw back some ground but Swardeston passed their target with five wickets in hand.

Stow were also frustrated by the weather. After seeing visitors Topcroft help themselves to 219/2, they failed to get out of the pavilion for any reply.

Downham Town A are celebrating after clinching the Division Three title by a nine-point margin over fast-closing Swaffham, who had threatened to cash in on recent poor results for the West Norfolk side.

But Town held firm to gain a title-clinching seven-wicket win over Winterton.

John Williams helped himself to 3-40 in the seasiders’ 159/8 and then Jason Porter (53no) shared in productive stands with captain Ash Corbett (36) and Andrew Arndt (33no) to reach 162/3 inside 32 overs.

Dersingham completed their Division Four campaign with a crushing victory over Great Melton A.

Martin Saddleton took 3-16 as the hosts reaped 206/8 but that was soon knocked off by a rampant Dersingham top order.

Ben Southgate was out for 32 but Shane Fisher (93) and opener Alex Havers (64no) put on 151 for the second wicket as their team rattled up a winning 209/2 total.

A solid middle-order knock from Stow A’s Thomas Davey (47) and Lee Smith (41) was not enough to worry Martham who rattled off the required 173 runs for the loss of five wickets inside 30 overs.

Decent innings throughout North Runcton A’s scorecard set them up nicely for a 134-run success at Rocklands.

Openers Ben Skipper (83) and George Rawlings (33) put on a round 100 for the first wicket with Williams Means (55) helping add 87 for the third.

Rocklands’ openers Will Defoe (70) and Simon Mann (55) put on 121 for the first wicket but the hosts were always well adrift of the required run rate and their innings ended on 178/2 with Runcton using nine different bowlers.

Division Five champions Bircham hit another big score but were another team left cursing the passing storms against Lowestoft Town A.

Their top four scored 198 between them with Shaun Fisher unbeaten on 83, Liam Crompton hitting 57, Will Pillinger 31 and Paul Lough 27 in a 242/4 total.

Fisher and Robert Preston took two wickets each as Lowestoft were reduced to 118/5 after 29 overs but that was as far as things got when the heavens opened,

Hockwold completed a second title-winning campaign with a five-wicket success against Hales and Loddon in Division Six.

The visitors batted first but Hockwold’s nine-man attack restricted them to 171/9 with Simon Groom’s five overs yielding four maidens and three wickets for just two runs.

After losing their first three wickets for only 32 runs, Hockwold stepped up the pace with Joel Gilmour (70) and Roy Bland (42) adding 99 for the next wicket before Euan Gilmour struck an unbeaten 24 to see them across the line a ball short of 22 overs.